Special Summer Activities
 
Saturday, June 17 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.  Make tissue paper turtles.
Wednesday, June 21 - Children's Book Illustrator Workshop - 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Barney Saltzberg in Beautiful Oops!.
Saturday, June 24 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.  Make felt bookmarks.
Monday, June 26 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30. Make beautiful paper lanterns with Mike Magyer, a Sandwich glass artist 10:00 – 12:00.
Wednesday, June 28 - Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Jon Klassen in Extra Yarn.
Friday, June 30 – Summer Reading Kick-Off with Dave Polansky 10:00.  Enjoy ice cream on the patio after the event.
Saturday, July 1 - Saturday Crafts - 9:30 - 2:00.  Make foam door handle decorations.
Wednesday, July 5 – Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Jim Bowen in My Mosiac Alphabet.
Friday, July 7 – Making “Strawbee” STEM projects 10:00.
Saturday, July 8 - Saturday Craft - 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, July 10 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.
Tuesday, July 11 – Infant Story Time – 3:30.
Wednesday, July 12 - Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Eric Carle using several of his books.
Friday, July 14 – Author event with local author Spencer Quinn (Woof and Arf) and narrator Jim Frangione.  This is an opportunity to see how a book becomes an audiobook.
Saturday, July 15 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, July 17 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.
Tuesday, July 18 – Infant Story Time. 
Wednesday, July 19 – Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Marcus Pfister in The Rainbow Fish.
Thursday, July 20 – WingMasters – A birds of prey program featuring owls, eagles, and peregrines.
Friday, July 21 – Owl pellet dissection 10:00.
Saturday, July 22 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, July 24 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.
Tuesday, July 25 – Infant Story Time – 3:30.
Wednesday, July 26 – Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Crockett Johnson in Harold and the Purple Crayon.
Thursday, July 27 – Coastal Explorer visit to Centerville Library 10:00 – 5:00.
Saturday, July 20 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, July 31 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.  Shell art projects - 11:00 - 12:00.
Tuesday, August 1 – Infant Story Time – 3:30.
Wednesday, August 2 – Pitter Patter Construction 3:00-5:00.  Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Susan Farrington in What I Love About You.
Saturday, August 5 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, August 7 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.
Tuesday, August 8 – Infant Story Time – 3:30.
Wednesday, August 9 – Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Dr. Seuss in The Lorax.
Saturday, August 12 – Star Wars Symposium 10:00 – 2:00.  Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.
Monday, August 14 – Drop-In Story Time – 10:30.
Tuesday, August 15 – Infant Story Time – 3:30.
Wednesday, August 16 – Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Ed Emberley in Go Away, Big Green Monster!
Thursday, August 17 – End of Summer Reading Event with Scott Jameson.
Saturday, August 17 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:009.
Monday, August 21 - Drop-In Story Time - 10:30.
Tuesday, August 22 - Infant Story Time - 3:30.
Wednesday, August 23 - Children's Book Illustrator Workshop, 9:30 - 5:00.  This activity will feature the art of Lois Ehlert in Rain Fish.
Saturday, August 26 - Saturday Crafts, 9:30 - 2:00.

Please check the website at www.centervillelibrary.org or contact the Centerville Library at 508-790-6220 and ask for Jessie (ext. 105) or Kristin (ext.106) in the Children’s Room. Some programs may require pre-registration or have special instructions.
 
Arts and Crafts Saturdays
Join us in the Children’s Room for some creative projects for children of all ages.  We provide the supplies and you provide the creativity!
 

Felt Bookmarks
Saturday June 24, 2017
9:30 am – 2:00 pm

 
 







Door Handle Decorations
Saturday July 1, 2017
9:30 am – 2:00 pm

 
 
 
 
 



These activities are free and open to children of all ages.  Registration is not required.


Monday, June 26, 10:00. Make paper lanterns with Sandwich glass artist Mike Magyar.  Mike is the owner of The Glass Studio of Cape Cod and the creative force behind the “Giants” sculptures in Sandwich during the winter months.  He is bringing his expertise to our library with a program for kids in designing beautiful paper lanterns that can be enjoyed during the summer evenings.  This event is free and for children of all ages, but registration is required.



 
Children's Book Illustrator Workshops

These workshops are independent art activities that feature the illustrators of some of the most beloved children’s books.  Children will learn about the artist and their creative techniques and have an opportunity to create their own artwork.

 

 

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/RxHlPFEKTPJRNnqRGj14Ara4RYWRfMQiu9wIhPHXSfMHcn5xhMJTcNzbF9x_1TiYK7f7p2HLN9ezlEEa2ZOCsZ9WPCqcI9PBXISYF2Eghs26jEBQ0wWtoVoyuktA5RWAl-_YI-3-jS2kh_sylA
Wednesday, June 28, 2017

9:30 – 5:00

Jon Klassen – Extra Yarn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/2lvyG9umdrP2vopLn1rLDB7PStNT3t-2Hr5wQsFViKzPOZj0bFDrwwzDl_hlA3ddxAX5gYviVROTTdBRc_lqXiX0geFiafU5aGptHv_DhQ4spXoCAqZQv8KaPIBmwV5rMSrVf0wj2HbKc2Y0FA 
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
9:30 – 5:00
Jim Bowen – My Mosaic Alphabet

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/ZZQqq9fkcq5F07dE700mtQQQb1U7ZyMCKpVg2gUqmCKUwzK1AvKtzaJ_LdDPF0DUX7w4FxiI_0rbGhN4BUtr13mRkSTAPyg0nBQrpIDvxbJNMbMysa0AT78qPAwCaiKdsikXUV0VSVzFnR2AEQWednesday, July 12, 2017
9:30 – 5:00
The Art of Eric Carle

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 



Friday, June 30, 10:00Barnstable Libraries’ Summer Reading Kick-Off Event with musical guest David Polansky.  David’s programs are humorous, cleaver, and engaging for all ages.  Ice cream social on the patio after the concert.  This event is free and for children of all ages.






 

 

Friday, July 7th
10:00 – 11:00
 
Join the Centerville Library for a STEM project for children of all ages.  We will be making “Strawbee” construction projects using simply straws and connector pieces.
 
Kids can construct vehicles, machines, animals, buildings, or moving mechanical structures.  These projects encourage creative play, develop problem-solving skills, and stimulate the imagination.  Perfect for all ages!
 
Space is limited, so please call the library at 508-790-6220 (ext. 105, 106) to register.  This program is free.
 
 
 
 
 
 


Drop in Story Time with
Miss Jessie!
Monday mornings
at 10:30


 
 
Infant Story Time with
Miss Kristin!
Tuesday afternoons
at 3:30