Interesting Web Sites for Tweens/Teens

Mother/Daughter Book Club   http://motherdaughterbookclub.com 
This site offers interviews with favorite authors, booklists and reviews, and guidelines to start your own mother/daughter book club complete with activities and discussion questions.  The site also provides links to author websites, parenting resources, where to find books and book products, and writing resources.  You can sign up for a newsletter to receive up-to-date information.
 
SMITHteens http://www.sixwordmemoirs.com 
This site is geared for ages 13-19 to share a special story in six words.  There are also YouTube videos.  Some recent examples include “Sometimes I think we are overthinking.” And “Never been the bad influence before …”.
 
Guys Read  http://www.guysread.com
This website was created by the beloved author Jon Scieszka.  He was an elementary and middle school teacher before becoming the author we know and love.  He is the man behind the Caldecott Honor medal winner “The Stinky Cheese Man, The True Story of the Three Little Pigs and the Time Warp Trio series.  He is also responsible for the Guys Read program, a nonprofit organization promoting literacy for young boys.  He explains his reading preferences on his website.  “I read everything – comic books, newspaper, cereal boxes, poems – anything with writing on it.  One of the first books I read as Green Eggs and Ham, by Dr. Seuss.  It made me realize that books could be goofy.”
 
Teen Nick  http://www.teennick.com
This site is created by the Teen Nick television network and has everything tween and teens would want including games, videos, shows, quizzes, and DIY craft ideas.  The content reflects seasons, holidays and what is current at the time.
 
Sweet Search   http://www.sweetsearch.com
This is a search engine for students that searches 35,000 Web sites that have been reviewed by research experts, librarians and teachers.  Sweet Search helps students find the information they need by focusing on academic and journalistic rigor.
 
Challenge You  http://www.challengeyou.com
This site allows tweens and teens to make their own games online and play with their friends.  It is a safe, online community where kids can play other member’s games, add comments, and chat.
 
Girls Communicating Career Connection  http://gc3.edc.org
This site was created as a youth=-produced, Web-based media series, with companion educator materials, on science and engineering careers targeting girls from underserved groups (minority populations, youth of low socioeconomic status and those with disabilities.  This site contains videos, games, and fun activities about interesting careers that use math and science – all created by middle school girls.
 
Channel One News  http://www.channelone.com
This is an extremely informative site for teens with the latest national and world news.  Also, teens will find homework support, games, quizzes, music videos, and movie reviews.  Samples articles include sustainable living, endangered species, and inside Iran.
Teen Health – (https://kidshealth.org/teen) – This site offers a wealth of information dealing with teen health – both physically and mentally.  Sections include body, mind, sexual health, food and fitness, diseases and conditions, infections, school and jobs, drugs and alcohol, staying safe, and recipes.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Websites of Popular Teen Authors

Check out these websites to get up-to-date news about your favorite author!

                  

J. K. Rowling  http://www.jkrowling.com                                            
Ransom Riggs  http://www.ransomriggs.com
Sarah J. Maas  http://worldofsarahjmaas.com
Bella Forrest  http://www.bellaforrest.net

Jeff Wheeler  http://www.jeff-wheeler.com
Suzanne Collins  http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com
J.R.R. Tolkien  http://www.tolkiensociety.org
Rainbow  Rowell  http://www.rainbowrowell.com
Jasmine Walt  http://www.jasminewalt.com
Sarah Dessen  http://www.sarahdessen.com
Stephanie Meyer  http://www.stepheniemeyer.com
Sophia Kinsella  http://www.sophiekinsella.co.uk
Laurie Halse Anderson  http://www.madwomanintheforest.com
Rick Riordan  http://www.rickriordan.com
John Green  http://www.johngreenbooks.com
Neil Gaiman  http://www.neilgaiman.com
Christopher Paolini  http://www.alagaesia.com
Louis Sachar  http://www.louissachar.com
Eoin Colfer  http://www.eoincolfer.com


                    


 
The "Shell'vers"/Teen Advisory Board meets Fridays from 3:45-4:45.  The group is open to kids in grades 6-12.  We welcome new members.
The following is the tentative schedule and activities for our meetings.
September 30 - Finish fall decorations
October 21 - Make pet toys for MSPCA
October 28 - Halloween celebration
November 4, 11, 18 - to be determined.
December 2, 9, 16 - to be determined.
January 6, 13, 20, 27 - to be determined.
February 3, 10, 17 - to be determined.
March 3, 10, 17, 24, 31 - to be determined.
April 7, 14, 28 - to be determined.
May 5, 12, 19, 26 - to be determined.